Wasting Away in the Kitchen

 

I was going to start my organic cleaning posts here, but I found another post that inspired me more. The post was about our household kitchen. It’s probably the place where we waste the most. So I’m going to take some time to highlight some ideas to lessen our footprint on the earth through controlling the waste in our kitchen.

 

I’ve covered a couple of these in another post on green living on Mama in the Wyrd but there are a few more here that I’ve discovered or implemented at home since that post.

 

  1. Replace the plastic shopping bags with reusable ones and hot/cold bags.
  2. Replace plastic baggies with homemade baggies (just make sure that you make them with food safe fabric.
  3. You can replace plastic produce bags with organic mesh ones. It’s an investment, but will save you money over time. It’s in my eventual plan for our home once we move out.
  4. Plan exact portions for your meals, You still may have some waste but not nearly as much as if you just guess.
  5. Coffee grounds, onion peels, carrot tops, egg shells and other non-meat food waste can go into a countertop crock, then on to a compost pile in your yard. Or use vermicompost bins,in which worms turn food waste into a nutrient-rich soil. I plan on eventually creating a worm compost when I have my own yard.
  6. Learn what your local recycling center accepts and send as much there as you can. They will reprocess it and reuse it.
  7. There is a good amount of money to be made in making pop tab purses. I even know a few moms who make them and sell them for $20 a pop. Then they donate the money to the Ronald McDonald house.
  8. Buying in bulk can also help you save. Just keep a few dispensers to keep under your counter.
  9. If you find that your local cleaning bottles and detergent containers often end up being landfill bound, consider making your own. I hope to eventually cover this as well.
  10. Ditch the disposables. Be adults and wash your dishes. I know it’s tempting to take the easy way out, but avoid temptation. You can even get rid of napkins by buying cloth ones or making your own.  Just think of all the money you will save over the years by not buying those items.
  11. If you want to cut down on food waste or over buying keep a list of what you have on a dry erase board or other device.  Then you can just buy what your family uses on a regular basis.
  12. If you would like to conserve electricity you can always opt for hand operated devices instead. Now, I’ll never give up my blender but I don’t mind a hand churn or whisks. I actually get a lot of satisfaction out of whisking things myself….just don’t ever ask me to make meringue again….I wish it had been as fun as it looked on Master Chef Junior.
  13. Donate your excess. It doesn’t matter if its foods or utensils. Find what you use and eliminate the rest. No point in a cluttered kitchen.  I know Alton Brown recommends doing the closet check with your kitchen. See what you’ve used after we’ll say three months, and donate the rest to someone who can use it. Or better yet find items that are multipurpose so you don’t have to have as much in your kitchen.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend and Blessed Be.

Leave a Reply

Follow Lessons From the Goddess on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Keeper of the Home

Learn, Let Live, and Love. Blessed Be.

Posts – Wellness Mama®

Learn, Let Live, and Love. Blessed Be.

Go Green Blog - Sustainable Baby Steps

Learn, Let Live, and Love. Blessed Be.

